BMW 1 Series models

The BMW E81/E82/E87/E88 is the first generation of the BMW 1 Série range of small hatchback, coupe and convertible cars, which were produced from 2004 to 2013. It replaced the 3 Série Compact as the smallest and least expensive vehicle in the BMW range. The body styles of the range are:

  • 3-door hatchback (E81 model code)
  • 5-door hatchback (E87 model code)
  • 2-door coupe (E82 model code)
  • 2-door convertible (E88 model code)
  • 3-door hatchback (F20 model code)
  • 5-door hatchback (F21 model code)

The 3-door and 5-door hatchbacks were replaced by the F20 and F21 models in 2011, while the E82 coupé and E88 convertible variants were replaced by the 2 Série F22 and F23 in 2013.
The engines available were four-cylinder diesel and four- and six-cylinder petrol, in both naturally aspirated and turbocharged forms. Unlike most hatchback competitors, the E81/E82/E87/E88 uses rear-wheel drive (instead of front-wheel drive).
The 1 Série accounted for nearly one-fifth of the total BMW sales in 2008.